Concealed Handgun Permit

Concealed Handgun Reciprocity

The list of states provided below are a result of work conducted by the Maine Attorney General’s Office.

Pursuant to 25 M.R.S 2001-A (2)(F), Maine will recognize a concealed handgun permit issued by another state to its resident if that state recognizes Maine’s resident concealed handgun permits. The site is providing a list of states that meet the requirements of the statute, based on research provided by the Maine Office of the Attorney General.

Reminder: Firearms must be carried in accordance with the laws of the state you are visiting. Be very sure to check the laws of the other state before traveling there with your firearms. For more information or for specific questions you should contact the state to which you are traveling. Please note that BPD This agency is not authorized to give legal advice. This summary cannot be used as a defense to illegal activity involving firearms or ammunition.

Permit-Recognized States

Resident permits issued by the following states will be recognized in Maine, and Maine permits held by Maine residents will be recognized in these states:

  • Alaska - Yes (must be 21 or older)
  • Florida - Yes
  • Georgia - Yes
  • Idaho - Yes
  • Kansas - Yes (must be 21 or older)
  • Kentucky - Yes
  • Michigan - Yes
  • Nebraska - Yes (must be 21 or older)
  • New Hampshire - Yes
  • Oklahoma - Yes
  • Utah - Yes
  • Virginia - Yes (must be 21 or older and possess government issued identification)