Wards & Composition


For the purpose of all elections, the city shall be divided into 7 wards. The city council shall, once in 10 years, by ordinance establish compact and contiguous wards of approximately equal population. The city council, for voting purposes, may by ordinance divide said wards into voting wards.  Ward maps can be located in the City Of Biddeford GIS Map Room.


The city council shall be composed of 9 members, who shall hold office for a term of 2 years and until their successors are elected and qualified. Councilors shall be elected by the registered voters of the city: 2 shall be elected at large, and 1 shall be elected from each of the 7 wards in which they reside and which they seek to represent. All candidates must be residents of the city.

The councilors-elect shall be sworn to the faithful performance of their duties at 7 p.m. on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in December, following a biennial election, by the city clerk or any person authorized by law to administer oaths.