Registering Vehicle During State of Emergency

During the State of Maine’s State of Emergency, the procedures for registering your vehicle have changed. Note that vehicle registrations (including temporary registrations) have been extended until 30 days after the end of Maine’s State of Emergency. While the City Clerk’s Office remains closed to the public, please follow the following procedures.

Re-registrations:

We encourage you to re-register your vehicles, motorcycles and trailers through RAPID RENEWAL. Please understand that you will not receive your new registration, plates and stickers in one day. These transactions are taking a few days since our staff is mailing everything.

New Registrations

If you need to register a vehicle you’ve just purchased, you may call the City Clerk’s Office at 207-284-9307 and speak to a staff member who will provide you instructions on how to proceed with your registration. 

Vehicles Purchased through a Dealership

Per the Governor’s Order, anyone who purchased or purchases a vehicle during the period of the declared State of Emergency will have until 30 days after the State of Emergency ends to get their new vehicle registered. Even if your temporary plates are expired, you will not be pulled over and issued a warning or fine.

Vehicles Purchased outside of Maine and/or through a Private Sale

Per the Governor’s Order, anyone who purchased or purchases a vehicle during the State of Emergency must obtain a “Temporary Registrations” letter from the Clerk’s Office, which will allow them to operate that vehicle without plates and valid registration. This provision will stay in effect for as long as the State of Emergency is in effect. Please call the Clerk’s Office at 207-284-9307 to get a Temporary Registrations letter.