Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

The Staff Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion committee was created by the City Council in January 2022 “to promote the goals of diversity, equity, and inclusion within the City of Biddeford staff through communication, events, and constant, thorough analysis and revision of City policies and procedures.” 

The group was re-formed in October 2023, meets monthly, and is chaired by Shelly Gibson, DEI Coordinator.  

DEI Language

Mission, Vision, & Values

Our mission is to cultivate and sustain a diverse, inclusive, equitable, welcoming, and belonging-based workplace where our employees actively practice solidarity for the greater good of the work environment and employee experience.

  • The City of Biddeford is an employer that embraces diversity in all its forms.
  • The City’s policies, procedures, and practices ensure equity for all employees.
  • City employees are uniquely valued and are empowered to advocate for themselves and others.
  • All City employees foster an inclusive environment where colleagues and the public know that they are safe to be themselves.

Compassion: We believe in empathizing with and showing others we care without expecting anything in return.

Fairness: We believe that everyone should be treated justly and that there should be equal opportunity for all, realizing that what is best for one person might not be best for another. 

Acceptance: We believe in valuing the whole person for who they are, even if it challenges us personally.

Integrity: We believe that employees should be trustworthy and reliable, should practice and encourage open and honest communication, and are responsible for their actions.

  1. Shelly Gibson

    Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Coordinator

  1. Justin Banks

    Safety and Training Coordinator

  1. Gregory Copeland

    GIS Manager / Website Administrator

  1. Jeff Demers

    Public Works Director

  1. Nicholas Desjardins, C.M.A.


  1. David Galbraith

    City Planner; Deputy Director of Planning & Development

  1. Steven Gorton

    Deputy Chief of Police

  1. Danica Lamontagne

    Assistant to the City Manager; Communications

  1. Lisa Thompson

    Deputy Recreation Director

  1. Kenneth Thorpe

    Deputy Chief